Fri 18.May 2012 08:45 Tanya Taylor,
CL: Abily and Le Sommer tied with 9 goals
Image: Getty Images
Taken from UEFA:
Olympique Lyonnais team-mates Camille Abily and Eugénie Le Sommer have shared the honour as 2011/12 UEFA Women's Champions League top scorer after both claimed their ninth goal in the 2-0 final defeat of 1. FFC Frankfurt in Munich.

The pair were aleady joint top prior to the Olympiastadion showpiece and although Le Sommer briefly had the advantage after her first-half penalty, Abily's long-range lob swiftly levelled matters as well as doubling Lyon's lead. Only in 2007/08 was the honour previously shared.

It is the first time a player from a French club has led this table and the fourth occasion in the 11 editions that the top scorer also claimed a winner's medal. The trio to do so previously are Julie Fleeting (Arsenal LFC, 2006/07), Conny Pohlers (1. FFC Turbine Potsdam, 2004/05) and Hanna Ljungberg (Umeå IK, 2002/03).

Leading the way after this season's round of 16 was Potsdam's Anja Mittag on seven goals but her winter move to FC Malmö left her cup-tied and she was unable to add to her total. However, the German international now stands second on the all-time list and three goals in Malmö's 2012/13 campaign, which will begin in the round of 32, will move her level with Ljungberg. has all the facts and figures from this season's competition.

2011/12 top scorers
Camille Abily (Olympique Lyonnais) 9
Eugénie Le Sommer (Olympique Lyonnais) 9
Anja Mittag (1. FFC Turbine Potsdam) 7
Yuki Nagasato (1. FFC Turbine Potsdam) 7
Laura Rus (Apollon Limassol LFC) 7*

*Includes goals in qualifying round

Previous season top scorers
2010/11: Inka Grings (FCR 2001 Duisburg) 13
2009/10: Vanessa Bürki (FC Bayern München) 11
2008/09: Margrét Lára Vidarsdóttir (Valur Reykjavík) 14
2007/08: Vira Dyatel (Zhilstroy-1 Karkhiv), Patrizia Panico (ASD CF Bardolino Verona), Margrét Lára Vidarsdóttir (Valur Reykjavík) 9
2006/07: Julie Fleeting (Arsenal LFC) 9
2005/06: Margrét Lára Vidarsdóttir (Valur Reykjavík) 11
2004/05: Conny Pohlers (1. FFC Turbine Potsdam) 14
2003/04: Maria Gstöttner (SV Neulengbach) 11
2002/03: Hanna Ljungberg (Umeå IK) 10
2001/02: Gabriela Enache (FC Codru Anenii Noi) 12

All-time top scorers
Hanna Ljungberg (Umeå IK) 39
Anja Mittag (1. FFC Turbine Potsdam) 36
Inka Grings (FCR 2001 Duisburg) 34
Conny Pohlers (1. FFC Turbine Potsdam/1. FFC Frankfurt) 34
Margrét Lára Vidarsdóttir (Valur Reykjavík/1. FFC Turbine Potsdam) 34

Latest News